Audiobook Lovers

Any other audio book lovers? I started listening to audio books because I hated to choose between reading and knitting. Now I listen to stories while I knit, cook, clean, drive and garden.

Share your favorite audio books here. I’m currently listening to “Where The Crawdads Sing” by Delia Owens. So far, I’m really enjoying it.

8 Likes

I’m a talk radio addict for cooking, knitting, etc. But love to listen to comedy while I drive. I cancelled my audible subscription when I graduated my children as it was hard to justify the expense without schooling but Sirius plus the library fills the gap for comedy.

Comedy audiobooks I have enjoyed are by David Sedaris and Jenny Lawson. Adult humor. You haven’t lived unless you’ve listened to the Santaland Diaries.

Our public library subscribes to Hoopla, which permits me to download four books monthly. These can be any combination of audiobooks or ebooks. I usually choose the audiobooks, and listen to them mostly when driving to and from work (it’s amazing how much more pleasant backups become when one has a book one enjoys!).

Most fiction doesn’t really appeal to me (although I love Jane Austen, Dorothy Sayers, CS Lewis and Georgette Heyer). I just finished listening to “The Meaning of Everything” by Simon Winchester. It’s not what you might think - haha. It’s about the creation of the Oxford English Dictionary, which took over 75 years, and involved a murderer, class snobbism, highly erudite women who weren’t discriminated against in their work to create this masterpiece, and an enormous number of academics with various odd habits. It was quite entertaining. Before that, I listened to “The Benedict Option” by Rod Dreher (who could have predicted the recent unpleasantness at R).

2 Likes

That sound you hear is me typing your recommendations into Goodreads. The dictionary story sounds wonderful.

Yep, I have been an audiobook lover for probably the last 15+ years.